Poké Lounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Volcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU

3 posters

Go down

Volcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU Empty Volcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU

Post by Literally Death Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:51 pm

Volcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU VolcaronaVolcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU Gyarados-megaVolcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU LatiosVolcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU ClefableVolcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU GliscorVolcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU Excadrill

Introduction

I'm still a bit new to the OU, so my team is probably pretty bad. I used a core from the Smogon Good Cores list, and built it around that. I used a good bit straight from smogon without changing a whole lot.

Teambuilding Process

The Team

Volcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU Volcarona
Volcarona @ Passho Berry
Ability: Flame Body
EVs: 72 HP / 252 SpA / 184 Spe
Timid Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
- Fire Blast
- Bug Buzz
- Giga Drain
- Quiver Dance
Part of my main core, I use this to pressure Ferrothorn and other common grass or steel types. He covers a good bit with Fire Blast and Bug Buzz. Works really well with Gyarados.

Volcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU Gyarados-mega
Gyarados @ Gyaradosite
Ability: Intimidate
EVs: 252 Atk / 4 Def / 252 Spe
Jolly Nature
- Waterfall
- Crunch
- Substitute
- Dragon Dance
The other part of my core, Mega Gyarados counters almost everything that Volcarona can't. The two of them can take on almost any typing, though they are troubled by electric and ground types quite a bit.

Volcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU Latios
Latios @ Life Orb
Ability: Levitate
EVs: 252 SpA / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Timid Nature
- Defog
- Psychic
- Recover
- Draco Meteor
I needed a defogger (though I added excadrill as a spinner so I might not need Latios anymore), since Rocks can hit my core pretty badly, and I heard Latios was a pretty good one.

Volcarona + Mega Gyarados Core OU Clefable
Clefable @ Leftovers
Ability: Magic Guard